Personification on Purpose

 

Elizabeth Gilbert gave a TEDtalk about how much healthier it might be for creative people to externalize their creative process, personifying it on purpose.

Dan Olson, in episode seven of the fourth season of his Foldable Human series, recommended a sort of personification as a means by which people can examine base assumptions that we would otherwise be oblivious to, by turning the notion of a body of work into a personality or even a person.

I’m just not there. For my NaNoWriMo project, for instance, I have a difficult enough time fleshing out characters, so diverting mental effort to creating a character, to personify a story, that has characters, that is all too much mental acrobatics for me.

Personifications come to me in the forms that they will, never planned or consciously created. Once they make themselves known, though, I can usually trace the influence. In the case of my tarot deck, the personification kind of just happened, and I had a difficult time reconciling that with the presence of court cards which represented actual personalities.

If personification is a natural tendency, though, then I might as well do it on purpose so that I can catch myself at it.

