Basic Blacksmything

 

If you’re reading this, then you’re exceedingly likely to have had some education that taught you how to read, write, and type this alphabet in English. Past that point, it’s not difficult.

As writing relates to blacksmything, though, there is a trick to it. While I’ve recommended writing as the first, easiest, simplest step to blacksmything…I realize now that this isn’t the form of expression that everyone’s most comfortable with, or doesn’t work best with their learning style, and these can be an obstacle to blacksmything.

Blacksmything can happen naturally. Painful truths go through their own process in the psyche, creating dreams that aren’t even remembered upon waking. Waking life provides experiences after which a subject knows better, and so does betterthat’s maturity.

To consciously undergo this process requires a shift into a state of mind, one that is considerate without being too judgmental of whatever subconscious influence reveals.

This state of mind can be reached somewhat through artistic expression, dream recording and interpretation, daydreaming, talk therapy, meditation, and a number of other ways.

Writing just so happens to be my favorite example to give for how to start off, because just the writing part of it is generally easy to do. It’s second nature to many of us.

Here’s one example: A newbie to magix claimed to have such a phenomenally advanced intuition that zie could not possibly be a mere human, and kept on asking the rest of the online community what zie could be instead. Every labelpsychic, witch, otherkin, starseed, demigod, kumari (that is, cultural-appropriative goddess born into physical human form)were all dismissed on the grounds of not being powerful enough.

I felt really irritated reading all that, and wrote out my complaints in a diary. “Labels are for shallow people! If this person’s intuition were sooo good really then why even consult us? You’d know what you are, intuitively! That’s why we have a reputation of being tweens stuck in a fantasy world and lying to ourselves…” and so on, so forth. Writing out snarky put-downs turned to writing out rationalizations turned to writing out feelings, and finally I wrote out the sentence, “I’m jealous of people who show that they believe in themselves so much. I was never allowed to do that, or feel that.”

That’s the moment that I confronted my shadow, or one of them. It isn’t bad or wrong for people to believe in themselves. I should believe in myself more often, even, because that’s actually healthy and nobody’s really stopping me. I’m not given to believing that I’m superhuman, but it’s not my responsibility to burst someone else’s bubble on that, if they won’t consider the idea that they have a social security number and bowel movements, and especially if they’re not actively harming me.

To be sure, this other person’s messages continued to be disruptive to the community, but instead of feeling irritated, I’d feel more serene. I’d project something else, some condescending pity, but that might be at least more constructive and healthier than outright hostility that really turned out to be unwarranted because it came from me.

Living the Truth: Transform Your Life Through the Power of Insight and Honesty by Keith Ablow has many of the same concepts, and is one of the very few personal development books that I would ever recommend. One review of the book blames Ablow for the dissolution of the reviewer’s own marriage, which I would take as “this is powerful stuff that will ruin your life if you’re not ready for it” rather than “always being honest is bad advice”.

Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4 is my favorite demonstration of so many other ways that Jungian Shadows can affect people’s lives and how to best deal with them. Not the otherworld travel superpowers part, necessarily. The notions can hit really close to home: confronting the self-righteousness beneath grief, or the feeling of inferiority beneath the attitude of superiority beneath the pretense of friendship (and then re-discovering the goodwill and admiration, the true bond of friendship, even beneath all that), or getting to the source of internalized homophobia, or acknowledging the inherent disempowerment that comes with sexual objectification despite trading on sexuality for what we’re conditioned to believe is empowering (but it isn’t, really)—all excellent examples of blacksmything.

